Simplified Disaster Recovery: Disable Disaster Recovery

Use this procedure if you want to remove DR capabilities from an existing FTL deployment.

If your goal is to move the DR site to a different location (hostname), you can perform the Simplified Disaster Recovery: Enable Disaster Recovery procedure after performing this procedure.

This one-time procedure requires a rolling restart of the FTL servers.

  1. Shutdown FTL servers at the DR site.

  2. Update the FTL realm configuration. For each persistence cluster used by applications, you must disable DR replication. You can leave the standby set (the persistence services formerly running at the DR site) in the configuration, or delete it, as you prefer.

  3. Update FTL server yaml configuration files for the primary site.

    You must remove the dr parameter. If you specified the auto.init.primary.on.no.contact parameter or the auto.init.primary.on.first.startup parameter, you must remove them too.

    If you specified --skip.auto.init.primary.on.no.contact on the FTL server command line, you must remove it.

  4. Roll the FTL servers at the primary site.

    Restart each FTL server, one-by-one. After each restart, ensure that all persistence services at the primary site are operational and that client applications continue to function.