Simplified Disaster Recovery

To use the simplified DR model, specify dr, rather than drfor and drto, in the FTL server yaml configuration file at both sites. See FTL Server Configuration Parameters.

The main difference between the classic and simplified DR models involves the availability of the primary site. Keep the following in mind:

  • Whenever the primary site suffers a complete shutdown and restart (as opposed to a normal rolling upgrade/restart), it attempts to contact the DR site to ensure that the DR site has not been activated. (Otherwise, split-brain might occur.)

  • If the primary site suffers a complete shutdown and restart, and the DR site is unreachable, the primary site does not accept client connections by default.

  • You can override this behavior by specifying auto.init.primary.on.no.contact in the FTL server yaml configuration file.

  • You can also run the activate_dr command at the primary site. In this case, the primary site is already activated; the command just forces the primary site to start accepting client connections.

Consider the following key choices:

Finally, if you need to enable DR on a pre-existing standalone deployment, see Simplified Disaster Recovery: Enable Disaster Recovery. You can also remove DR from an existing deployment; see Simplified Disaster Recovery: Disable Disaster Recovery. You can also move the DR site by performing the disable DR procedure, followed by the enable DR procedure.